World Water Day: Why Waste Water?

Water is such a precious gift. A gift many of us take for granted. Today is World Water Day, and the theme the UN has chosen for 2017 is ‘Why Waste Water?’ The focus is on reducing and reusing water

“as 80% of all the waste water from homes, cities, industries and agriculture flows back to nature polluting the environment and losing valuable nutrients and other recoverable materials”. 

Below is something I wrote awhile back about the importance of water. 

For more information on how to reduce and reuse water check http://www.worldwaterday.org
The Gift of Water

Recently I watched a video online where a young lady decided to take part in a water challenge. This challenge required that she only use a few liters of water for the whole day to do all the things that she does regularly. During the challenge she had many moments where she struggled having her water use limited.

 According to research, each person on this planet requires 20-50 liters of clean and safe water a day to live a healthy life. Clean potable water is used to clean, cook, drink, bath and to water vegetation. Yet 8 million people on this planet do not have access to running or clean water and this impacts their ability to live full lives.

Watching this particular challenge made me realize how living in North America I have taken water for granted on many occasions. There have been many instances when in the morning while brushing my teeth I have left the tap running not consciously thinking about all the water that is being wasted. Being around easy access to water makes you forget how precious water is, that it truly is a gift. I never have to think about where I am getting my next supply of fresh drinking water I just turn on my tap. If I want to take a shower, I just turn on my tap. If I want to clean my vegetables and meat before cooking, I just turn on the tap. I turn on my tap and don’t realize that a gift is freely flowing from my tap. 

Not having clean water can devastate human health and greatly impact the environment. Polluted water can cause deadly diseases like cholera that kills millions each year. Polluted water makes it hard for vegetation to grow. No access to water can also result in education suffering due to disease from poor sanitation or robbing a person of their dignity because of a lack of good personal hygiene.

We all have to do our part to help those less fortunate to have easy access to clean and potable water. We all deserve to have easy access to water that we don’t have to think about where our next supply of water is coming from. 

That is why on July 28, 2010 the United Nations General Assembly recognized the human right of water and acknowledged that clean drinking water was essential to the realization of all human rights. 

Let’s make this possible for everyone. 

2 thoughts on “World Water Day: Why Waste Water?

Leave a Reply

