Sista Panyin: New Year, Don’t Be Anxious

The first week of the new year has come to an end and I felt the first post should be us having a talk  about resolutions. By now you have heard and seen so much about Resolutions, how to make one, how to keep them through the year and why you should have one.

I’m not here to talk to you about that, I want to talk to those of you who feel overwhelmed and anxious about the idea of having a resolution. You’re not sure where to start what should be on your list and how to stay committed. But to me I see no need to be confused and anxious. Who says you need to have a New Year’s Resolutions?

I’m sure you know this already but just need reassurance. If there is something you want to do with your life you don’t have to wait for some arbitrary date and time. You can start whenever.

Take your time. Think about your life and where it is headed and if you like that direction, If you do great keep doing things to keep you on that path.  If there are things that you don’t like figure out a way to change it. Don’t rush. Don’t think you are behind. Take your time this is your life and you are not on anyone’s watch except your own. No need to hurry up if you will make terrible mistakes that could hinder your intended outcome and probably hinder the life you have imagined for yourself. 

Forget what others are saying about resolutions ask yourself what you want. Make a plan on how to get there. You don’t have to make that decision this month. If you are like me you might want to research your options on certain issues, you might want to talk to someone you trust and you might want to pray for the right answer, then take the steps in the right direction and that is fine.
If you want a tip you can write down what you want to happen in your life for the year or future. As I said in a post I believe in the power of writing things down.

Here’s a picture of the envelopes where I keep some of the things I write down for the year and for my future. I have two envelopes because one are my direct prayer points to God and the other is things I will work on and wish to see happen.  I like to decorate them a bit and put Bible verses on the one with prayer points and then inspirational quotes on the other one, this year I picked most of my quotes from Motivational Speaker Les Brown and then one of my fave Bible Verse, Micah 6:8 simplified to “Act Justly, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly”. 
I just learned about something called Bullet Journaling and I think that can also help get you off in the right track as well.  I have plans on trying it out myself and will have more information once I get started.
Do your best to enjoy the year. Don’t let the lack of a resolution get you down. You will be fine, just keep moving forward one day at a time. 

Leave a Reply

