World Poetry Day

Today is World Poetry Day and I just wanted to celebrate the day by introducing you to some Poets that I love. I wish I had even a pinch of their talent to create images with words that conjure up so many feelings in just a few lines. Poetry to me is such a gift to this world and these few are truly gifted.

words

 

WARSAN SHIRE

I believe many of us know about Warsan Shire and her amazing work by now. Every time I read something written by her I am left in awe. She has an ability with her words to sum up feelings I have inside that I am unable to describe accurately. Warsan is a young  Somali-British poet that has many awards and praise for her poems.  Her work in “Teaching My Mother How to Give Birth” hits you at the core.  I haven’t met a person that doesn’t love the work Warsan has done.  If you would like to know more about her you can read an article about her in The New Yorker

My alone feels so good, I’ll only have you if you’re sweeter than my solitude.
― Warsan Shire

NAYYIRAH WAHEED

I first saw Nayyirah’s work on Tumblr. Her poems constantly had me saying “brilliant”. I found myself constantly reblogging her poems and posting them on Facebook. You can’t be greedy with her poems and keep them to yourself, you must share her beautiful words with others. I shared her poems so much that when her book “Salt” came out, I had friends messaging me to tell me they had bought the book and thanked me for introducing them to Naayirah.

you
not wanting me
was
the beginning of me
wanting myself
thank you
― Nayyirah Waheed

 

IJEOMA UMBEINYUO

I also stumbled upon Ijeoma from Tumblr. Her words are so powerful and stay with me for hours after I have read them. I love the way she talks about life in Nigeria in some poems, the experience of being an immigrant in others and also the power of being a woman. Her book “Questions For Ada”  is such a powerful read, filled with so many raw emotions. Every person that I have mentioned Ijeoma and her work to agrees that she is a breath of fresh air and  a voice this generation of African writers needs.

Do you return from love as yourself or as another? I asked. It seems there are still women I have to become to understand the woman I was.
-Ijeoma Umebinyuo

 

KWABENA AGYARE YEABOAH

This last one might be me being a little bit biased because I know the person, but this young man can write. His words on several occasions have left me wondering “How does he do that?” I finally convinced him to get a Tumblr (that is where I found two of the people on this list). I’m hoping that he will continue to write poetry that leaves me asking questions about how he is able to fuse words together like magic. Really hoping by next World Poetry Day he will have an official website and book launching.

How does it feel to be free from a body you’ve inhabited for a lifetime? Moist, sticky and damp? How does it feel to wake up with less burden, joy and grace? Poetic? How does it feel when you break your heart? How does it feel?
-Kwabena Agyare Yeboah

 

What poems/poets do you love? Share a few with me. 

Leave a Reply

